#### UNION GOVERNMENT

The **Union Government** of India, also known as the **Central Government**, is the national government of the Republic of India, headquartered in **New Delhi**. It is composed of three main branches:

## 1. Legislative Branch - Parliament of India

Responsible for making laws.

- Bicameral structure:
  - o Rajya Sabha (Council of States) Upper House
  - o Lok Sabha (House of the People) Lower House
- Presided over by:
  - o **President of India** (part of the Parliament)
- Powers include:
  - o Making laws
  - o Approving budgets
  - o Discussing national issues
  - o Holding the executive accountable

### 2. Executive Branch

Responsible for implementing laws and policies.

- **President of India** Constitutional Head of State
- Prime Minister of India Head of Government
- **Council of Ministers** Assists the Prime Minister in administration
- Cabinet Ministers, Ministers of State, Deputy Ministers

Ministries and departments are headed by ministers and controlled by civil servants (IAS officers, etc.).

### 3. Judicial Branch

Ensures justice and interprets the Constitution.

- Supreme Court of India Apex court
- **High Courts** In each state/union territory
- District and Subordinate Courts
- Chief Justice of India (CJI) heads the judiciary

# **Key Features of Union Government:**

• Federal in structure, but unitary in spirit (strong central authority)

- **Division of powers** between Union and State governments via:
  - o Union List
  - State List
  - o Concurrent List
- Emergency powers with the Union Government
- Single Constitution for the entire country (except Jammu & Kashmir until 2019)