STRUCTURE OF THE UNION GOVERNMENT

The Union Government of India is divided into three main organs:

1. Legislature – Parliament of India

Responsible for making laws

- Structure:
 - **President of India** (part of Parliament)
 - **Rajya Sabha** (Council of States Upper House)
 - Lok Sabha (House of the People Lower House)

2. Executive – Council of Ministers led by the Prime Minister

Responsible for implementing laws and policies

- Structure:
 - **President of India** Constitutional Head
 - Vice President Also Chairperson of Rajya Sabha
 - Prime Minister Head of Government
 - Council of Ministers:
 - Cabinet Ministers
 - Ministers of State (Independent charge)
 - Ministers of State

3. Judiciary – Independent body of courts

Responsible for interpreting laws and delivering justice

- Structure:
 - Supreme Court of India Apex Court
 - High Courts One in each state (or group of states)
 - District and Subordinate Courts

FUNCTIONS OF THE UNION GOVERNMENT

1. Legislative Functions

- Make laws on subjects in the Union List and Concurrent List
- Amend the Constitution
- Approve budgets and taxation proposals
- Control and supervise the executive through debates, questions, and motions

2. Executive Functions

- Implement laws passed by Parliament
- Maintain internal security and public order
- Conduct foreign relations and diplomacy
- Administer defense services
- Formulate policies on education, health, economy, etc.

3. Judicial Functions

- Safeguard the Constitution
- Settle disputes between states or between states and the Union
- Protect fundamental rights of citizens
- Interpret laws and ensure justice

Summary Chart:

Branch	Head	Main Function	Key Institutions
Legislature	President	Make laws	Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha
Executive	Prime Minister	Enforce laws	President, Council of Ministers
ludiciary	Chief Justice of India	Interpret laws & ensure justice	Supreme Court, High Courts, Others