HIGH COURTS IN INDIA

Definition:

A **High Court** is the **highest judicial authority** at the **state or union territory** level in India. It deals with civil, criminal, constitutional, and administrative cases under its jurisdiction.

Key Features:

Constitutional Provisions:

- Mentioned in Articles 214 to 231 of the Indian Constitution.
- Every state shall have a High Court, or two or more states/UTs may have a **common High Court** (Article 231).

Composition:

- Chief Justice (appointed by the President of India)
- **Other Judges** (appointed by the President in consultation with the Chief Justice of India and the Governor of the state)

There is no fixed number of judges in a High Court; it varies depending on the workload.

Appointment and Tenure:

- Appointed by: **President of India**
- Tenure: **Till 62 years of age** (can resign or be removed earlier)
- Removal: Only by **President** after **impeachment** by Parliament (same process as for Supreme Court judges)

Powers and Jurisdiction:

1. Original Jurisdiction:

- Enforces Fundamental Rights (under Article 226).
- Writ jurisdiction (can issue writs like Habeas Corpus, Mandamus, Prohibition, Certiorari, and Quo Warranto).
- Matters like election disputes, marriage, divorce, etc.

2. Appellate Jurisdiction:

• Hears appeals from subordinate courts in civil and criminal cases.

3. Supervisory Jurisdiction:

• Supervises and controls all subordinate courts in the state under Article 227.

4. Advisory Jurisdiction:

• Can advise the Governor on legal matters.

Writ Jurisdiction:

• Article 226 gives wider powers to High Courts than Article 32 (Supreme Court) as it can issue writs for not only Fundamental Rights but also other legal rights.

Subordinate Judiciary Control:

• High Courts have administrative control over lower courts (district and session courts).

Language of Proceedings:

• Proceedings are in **English**, but the Governor can permit use of **regional languages** with the President's consent.

High Court	Jurisdiction
Bombay High Court	Maharashtra, Goa, Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu
Madras High Court	Tamil Nadu and Puducherry
Delhi High Court	National Capital Territory of Delhi
Allahabad High Court	Uttar Pradesh
Calcutta High Court	West Bengal and Andaman & Nicobar Islands

Examples of High Courts: