CONSTITUTIONAL FUNCTIONARIES IN INDIA – OVERVIEW

Constitutional functionaries are high-ranking officials whose positions and powers are defined and protected by the Constitution of India. They play a vital role in the governance, administration, and justice system of the country.

List of Major Constitutional Functionaries

Sl. No.	Functionary	Article	Key Role
1	President of India	Article 52	Head of the State; ceremonial authority; appoints key officials
2	Vice President of India	Article 63	Ex-officio Chairperson of the Rajya Sabha
3	Prime Minister	Article 75	Head of the Government; leads the Council of Ministers
4	Governor (of a State)	Article 153	Head of the State (in states); acts on advice of State Cabinet
5	Chief Minister	Article 164	Real executive head at state level
6	Attorney General of India	Article 76	Chief legal advisor to the Government of India
7	Comptroller and Auditor General (CAG)	Article 148	Audits all receipts and expenditures of the Union and State governments
8	Chief Election Commissioner (CEC)	Article 324	Conducts free and fair elections in India
9	Chairperson, Union Public Service Commission (UPSC)	Article 315	Conducts exams and recruitment for civil services
10	Chief Justice of India (CJI)	Article 124	Head of the Supreme Court; leads Indian Judiciary
11	Chairperson, Finance Commission	Article 280	Recommends division of taxes between Centre and States
12	Speaker of Lok Sabha	Article 93	Presiding officer of Lok Sabha; maintains order and decorum

Sl. No.	Functionary	Article	Key Role
13	Chairman, Rajya Sabha	Article 64	Vice President acts as the Chairman
14	Special Officer for Linguistic Minorities	Article 350B	Investigates matters related to linguistic minorities
15	National Commission for SC/ST/OBC/Minorities	lle.g., 338.	Protection of rights and interests of marginalized communities