## STATE ELECTION COMMISSION (SEC): ROLE AND FUNCTIONING

## 1. Introduction:

The State Election Commission (SEC) is a constitutional authority responsible for conducting elections to the local self-governments – the Panchayats and Municipalities – within a state.

It is established under Article 243K of the Indian Constitution (Part IX – Panchayati Raj) and Article 243ZA (Part IXA – Municipalities).

### 2. Composition:

- Headed by the **State Election Commissioner**.
- Appointed by the Governor of the State.
- The number of members in the Commission is determined by the respective **State Government**.

### **3. Tenure and Conditions:**

- **Tenure**: As decided by the Governor (usually 5–6 years or up to 65 years of age).
- **Removal**: Can be removed only in the same manner and on the same grounds as a High Court judge, ensuring independence.

### 4. Role and Responsibilities:

The SEC conducts and supervises:

- Elections to:
  - Gram Panchayats
  - Panchayat Samitis
  - Zila Parishads
  - Municipal Corporations
  - Municipalities and Nagar Panchayats
- **Preparation and revision** of electoral rolls for local body elections.
- **Delimitation of constituencies** for local bodies (in consultation with the state).
- Model Code of Conduct implementation at the local level.
- **Declaration of results** and **adjudication of disputes** related to local elections.
- Ensures free, fair, and unbiased elections at the grassroots level.

### 5. Powers and Autonomy:

- Operates independently of the Election Commission of India (ECI).
- Has the power to **postpone or cancel elections** in case of malpractice or law-and-order issues.

• Exercises quasi-judicial powers in matters of electoral disputes for local bodies.

Feature	Election Commission of India (ECI)	State Election Commission (SEC)
Jurisdiction	National and State-level elections	Local body elections (Panchayats, Municipalities)
Established under	Article 324	Article 243K & 243ZA
Appointed by	President of India	Governor of the State
Conducts elections for	Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha, State Legislatures, President, Vice President	Gram Panchayats, Municipalities, Zila Parishads, etc.

# 6. Difference from Election Commission of India: